Canadian Academy of Periodontology

The foundation of a healthy smile

CAP position on Keyes technique

In the late 1970s an oral hygiene program called the Keyes technique was widely promoted as a nonsurgical alternative for treating advanced periodontal disease (pyorrhea)*. The technique includes:

  1. Microscopic examination of the plaque.
  2. Cleaning the teeth and gums with a mixture of salt, baking soda and peroxide.
  3. Use of antibiotics.

As in any medical field, treatment approaches vary according to the condition being treated. The Keyes technique attempts to treat all periodontal conditions the same way. This brings some risks and limitations:

  1. Bacterial monitoring using a phase contrast microscope is a technique sensitive, inaccurate and outmoded technology, which does not accurately differentiate between bacteria associated with a healthy periodontal environment and that associated with aggressive periodontal disease.
  2. Local therapy, consisting of scaling and root planing (deep cleaning) has always been part of conventional periodontal therapy. However numerous studies, short and long term, have shown that the adjunctive use of baking soda and hydrogen peroxide have not demonstrated any particular added benefit over conventional techniques.
  3. The use of systemic antibiotics in conjunction with root planing has shown minimal or no added value over local therapy alone in treating adult periodontitis. In addition, the possible minor benefit would only be of short duration and the use of antibiotics significantly increases the chances of developing bacteria resistant to many antibiotics.

In conclusion, the Keyes technique offers a single treatment approach, with limited benefits and substantial disadvantages, to a multifactorial disease requiring different therapeutic responses.

The Canadian Academy of Periodontology recommends a thorough assessment of any periodontal condition followed by an informed, comprehensive therapeutic approach. A 'one size fits all' approach offers a significant risk of under or over treatment and the CAP therefore cannot endorse or recommend this technique.

The CAP's position is in agreement with the position of the American Academy of Periodontology (

*Report of the special committee on NIH-NIDR study of periodontal therapy. American Academy Periodontology, Chicago., Sept. 1984.

↑ Top

Académie Canadienne de Parodontologie

La base d'un sourire en santé


Position de l'ACP sur la méthode de Keyes


à la fin des années 70, un programme d'hygiène buccale appelé technique de Keyes a été grandement publicisé comme une alternative non-chirurgicale au traitement des parodontites sévères de l'adulte*. Cette technique inclut :

  1. L'examen microscopique de la plaque.
  2. Le nettoyage des dents avec un mélange de sel, de bicarbonate de soude et peroxyde d'hydrogène.
  3. L'utilisation d'antibiotiques.

Comme dans n'importe quel domaine médical, les approches thérapeutiques changent selon les conditions traitées. La technique de Keyes essaye de traiter toutes les conditions parodontales de la même manière. Cela amène quelques risques et limitations :

  1. La surveillance bactérienne à l'aide d'un microscope de contraste de phase est une technologie délicate, imprécise et démodée qui ne différencie pas exactement entre les bactéries liées à un environnement parodontal sain et à celles associées à une atteinte parodontale agressive.
  2. La thérapie locale, qui consiste en en un détartrage et surfaçage de la racine (nettoyage en profondeur) a toujours fait partie de thérapie parodontale conventionnelle. Toutefois les nombreuses études, à cours et à long terme, ont prouvé que l'utilisation du bicarbonate de soude et du peroxyde d'hydrogène n'apporte aucun avantage par rapport aux techniques conventionnelles.
  3. L'utilisation d'antibiotiques systémiques en même temps que le surfaçage des racines n'a pu montrer qu'un avantage minime ou inexistant par rapport à la thérapie sans antibiotiques pour le traitement de la parodontite de l' adulte. De plus, l'avantage minime serait seulement de courte durée et l'utilisation des antibiotiques augmente de manière significative les chances que les bactéries développent des résistantes à beaucoup d'antibiotiques.

En conclusion, la technique de Keyes offre une approche simple de traitement, avec des avantages limités et des inconvénients substantiels, pour une maladie multifactorielle qui exige différentes réponses thérapeutiques.

L'académie canadienne de parodontologie recommande une évaluation détaillée de n'importe quelle condition parodontale, suivie d'une approche thérapeutique complète. Une approche où « un seul traitement traite tous les maux » offre un risque significatif de sous traitement ou de sur traitement. En conséquence, l'ACP ne peut approuver ou recommander cette technique.

*Report of the special committee on NIH-NIDR study of periodontal therapy. American Academy Periodontology, Chicago., Sept. 1984.


↑ Haut